Archive > Anna Kavan’s ‘Ice’ – Reviewed by Simon Lavery

IceSimon Lavery, winner of our monthly Facebook competition, has reviewed Anna Kavan’s novel Ice on his excellent literary blog Tredynas Days. Read his review here.

Simon has written about Anna Kavan before. In his first entry he discusses Kavan’s posthumous collection of short stories Julia and the Bazooka and gives a useful biographical summary of this most intriguing of writers. In a follow-up, Simon discusses her posthumously discovered novel The Parson.

Find out more about our nine Anna Kavan titles by clicking here. Jeremy Reed’s biography of the enigmatic Anna Kavan A Stranger on Earth is also still available.

If, like Simon Lavery, you’d like a chance to win one of our titles, why not join us on Facebook? Participation is simplicity itself. If you have a Facebook account, like and follow our official page by clicking here. Each month we list several of our books, new and old, and ask you to like as many as you wish for a chance of winning that title. On the first day of every calendar month, we draw a winner at random from our most enthusiastic followers and announce it on our page. We then ask you to message us with your postal address so we can send out The Parson Anna Kavanyour prize. You can also follow us on Twitter.

Do you enjoy reviewing books? If you have your own blog, website or online magazine, and have written a review of one of our books, let us know and we’ll share the link on Facebook and here on our website. You can contact us by email here:

Books by Anna Kavan currently available:

Asylum Piece (1940)

I Am Lazarus (1945)

Sleep Has His House (1947)

A Scarcity of Love (1956)

Who Are You? (1963)

Ice (1967)

Julia and the Bazooka (1970)

The Parson (1995)

Guilty (2007)








This entry was posted in Archive, Competition, Press and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.